Australia won by 9 wkts

Australia in India, 2007

India vs Australia, 5th ODI

IPCL Sports Complex, Vadodara, October 11, 2007

Match Information
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pak) & Amiesh Saheba (Ind)
Third Umpire: Suresh Shastri (Ind)
Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng)
Toss: India (Elected to bat)
Match Status: Australia won by 9 wkts

Man of the Match: Mitchell Johnson

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni conceded it had been a bad day all round for the hosts after they lost to the Aussies by nine wickets on Thursday, going 3-1 down in the series with two to play.

He said: “Not much went our way. Apart from winning the toss nothing went our way.

“We were short of runs – 225-230 would have been good to defend.

“Under the conditions they bowled superbly well. We need to forget it and we have to perform well in the coming two games.”

Ponting agreed his side’s bowling performance was key to their win.

He said: “We had given plenty of extras in the last game and we tried to tidy up in this game and we contained the extras in this game.

“Everything we tried came off well, all the guys executed their plans well. Mitchell Johnson was outstanding. He is pretty happy.

Gilly (Gilchrist) and Matt (Hayden) also got us off to a good start.

“He (Gilchrist) is capable of doing anything on his day and hopefully that can continue throughout the tour. We want to win every game on the tour.”

Fall Of Wickets (India)
1/5 (Saurav Ganguly, 0.4 ov.), 2/5 (Rahul Dravid, 0.5 ov.), 3/12 (Yuvraj Singh, 3.5 ov.), 4/33 (Robin Uthappa, 7.1 ov.), 5/43 (Mahendra Singh Dhoni, 9.2 ov.), 6/92 (Sachin Tendulkar, 25.3 ov.), 7/105 (Harbhajan Singh, 26.6 ov.), 8/106 (Irfan Pathan, 27.4 ov.), 9/107 (Murali Kartik, 29.1 ov.), 10/148 (Zaheer Khan, 39.4 ov.)

Fall Of Wickets (Australia)
1/54 (Matthew Hayden, 12.5 ov.)


India Innings
Powerplay 2: Overs 11 – 15
Powerplay 3: Overs 16 – 20

Australia Innings
Powerplay 2: Overs 11 – 15

The Teams

Saurav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c) (w) , Rahul Dravid, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Murali Kartik, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh, Dinesh Karthik (sub) , S Sreesanth (sub) , Rohit Sharma (sub)

Adam Gilchrist (w) , Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (c) , Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Bradley Hodge, James Hopes, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Mitchell Johnson, Brad Haddin (sub) , Adam Voges (sub) , Ben Hilfenhaus (sub) , Stuart Clark (sub)